Professor Irene Tracey

Professor Irene Tracey holds the Nuffield Chair of Anaesthetic Science and is Head of the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences at the University of Oxford. Irene did her undergraduate and graduate studies in Biochemistry at the University of Oxford from 1985-1993 and then held a postdoctoral position at Harvard Medical School until 1996. In 1997, Irene helped to co-found and develop the now world-leading Oxford Centre for Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Brain (FMRIB) at the University of Oxford and was its Director from 2005 until 2015. She was also Head of the Nuffield Division of Anaesthetics (NDA) and an Associate Head of the Medical Sciences School at Oxford prior to taking up her current Headship post of the overall department that comprises FMRIB, NDA, the Division of Neurology, the Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology and the Centre for Prevention of Stroke and Dementia. Over the past 18 years her personal multidisciplinary research team has contributed to a better understanding of pain perception, pain relief and nociceptive processing within the injured and non-injured human central nervous system using advanced neuroimaging techniques. More recently, members of her team have been investigating the neural bases of altered states of consciousness induced by anaesthetic agents, identifying novel and highly individualised markers indicating when subjects lose perception. They have pioneered the development of novel paradigms and methods for understanding pain mechanisms in humans, including spinal cord imaging, imaging tonic neural states and pharmacological imaging to aid analgesic drug discovery. Their work has radically altered how pain is viewed and contributed to a better understanding of the importance of the brain in altering and modulating the subjective pain experience. Irene’s work is highly translational as well as in basic science. Irene has served, and continues to serve, on many national and international committees in areas spanning pain, neuroscience, academia and science in general. She is a passionate advocate for women in science and is involved in many mentorship schemes to support the development of young career researchers. In 2008 she was awarded the triennial Patrick Wall Medal from the Royal College of Anaesthetists and in 2009 was made an FRCA for her contributions to the discipline. In 2015 she was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. She has recently been elected to the Council of the Medical Research Council in the United Kingdom.

Full contact details:

Head of the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences & Nuffield Chair Anaesthetic Sciences, University of Oxford.
Postal Address: FMRIB Centre,
John Radcliffe Hospital,
OX3 9DU,
Tel +44 (0) 1865 222724